"Welcome to my Journal-ish"

Fitness and Me…

So like I said before this blog will not only serve as Stage for my new work and sketches, but it will also serve as a means to achieving my goals. So this post will be  an introduction to one of those goals, and how I plan on achieving it.

Midway though last year I had made a decision to make single monthly goal, as well as one or two Long term goals. So far I have managed to reach the majority of the goals I have set, and have decided to continue that same thinking into this year.

This past month I had the opportunity to take a vacation In the beautiful Island of Puerto Rico, and during that trip I took a tour of the El Yunque Rain forest. Now that tour consisted of a two mile hike, which in retrospect was a lot harder than it should have been. Mind you … I am not what you consider out of shape, but  I realized that day that there is definitely some room for improvement.

Since then I made the decision to take the appropriate steps needed to become more fit. I did a little research and for the fun of it I ended up getting a few apps for my iPhone and decided to see if I could use them to my benefit. Below are the are the apps I chose, and a brief explanation of why I chose them.

1- Couch 25k

This App was chosen because the elliptical can only get you so far. A few years back I used to run with my sister 3 miles twice a week, and to be honest I used dog it. I came across this app and figured it would help me get back to that old man 3 mile pace, and had and then beat it to hell!!. I am now rolling into my second week, and so far so good.

2-LOSE IT

Just in the effort of full disclosure I have had this app for a while, and it works when used correctly. My Kryptonite is food… so much so apparently it was part of the reason I was nicknamed the Basement Monster in the first place. But, that is a story for another time. It will keep me honest, and in turn be a good tool to keep me on track.

3- NIKE TRAINING CLUB

Ever get to the end of a work out and the gym and ask yourself what the hell do I do next? Well this app helps me figure that part out. I have been working steadily for damn near 15 years, and do be honest I find myself getting bored from time to time. This app is full of different work outs, and I hope it will help break up the all to familiar monotony from time to time.

If you are interested in following me on this little experiment, I intend on posting my progress on my blog from time to time. So stay tuned cause this may be interesting….. oooor it may not 😉

Leave a Reply

